Brunch at Xuan

The Andaz Hotel in Shanghai is such an interesting building, it’s easily recognizable as you pass Xintiandi. One of my friends suggested brunch here before an event, and I’d happily agreed. I’d heard good things about Hai Pai, but didn’t know much about the other dining options.

P40607-114935

I started off with a Bloody Mary as we kept on looking over the menu. Not the best I’ve had, but definitely not the worst.

P40607-115837

I like open kitchen designs. It was a little sad to see that there wasn’t much going on at this one.

P40607-120247

Being unable to decide on whether we wanted breakfast or lunch, I ended up splitting a burger and brunch plate with one of my friends. The burger was pretty good, and the fries were quite nice as well.

P40607-120301

The brunch plate, on the other hand, was a bit disappointing. All the pieces were nice, but for 88 rmb I had hoped the portions would be a tiny bit bigger.

P40607-122019

So for round 2 I got a milkshake (which actually tasted like they’d used milk in it!) and…

P40607-125728

my friend and I split a souffle. The souffle was REALLY good, but it took them almost an hour to bring it. I know souffles are difficult, but there should really be a warning of some sort if a dessert is going to take over a half hour.

Overall, I’d come back for the souffle, but nothing else.

What: Xuan
Where: Andaz in Xintiandi
Cost: Brunch plate 88 rmb, desserts about 50 rmb, drinks 40-60rmb ish

This entry was posted in Food, Shanghai and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment